a day in the life of an indecisive shopaholic

One of the presents my parents got me for Christmas this year was a groupon for a month membership to a gym downtown. It’s a great non-intimidating space – bamboo floors, natural shampoo in the dispensers, and they play old Destiny’s Child and No Doubt hits. But the biggest perk of all is that it’s next door to one of my favourite second hand clothing stores in Victoria: The Patch. This is actually quite dangerous. As I was leaving the gym the other day, I couldn’t help but be accosted by the racks of 30% off coats/jackets (one of my many weaknesses) and signs for a sale on the entire store. Popping in couldn’t hurt right?

And in stopping inside, I quickly found an armful of clothes to try on. Welcome to a glimpse inside my dressing room drama..

IMG_0469

The first thing in the pile was a very cute Kate Spade jacket, sadly it was a size too small. Unfortunate.

IMG_0473

Next a big comfy sweater with a fun play on stripes. But a tad on the large size… (This is when the self pep talks start: “don’t get discouraged, something will fit!”)

IMG_0471

Something that fits! But nothing too exciting beyond being comfortable. Right now it’s a maybe.

I tried on this Banana Republic pencil skirt next, which I immediately loved when I saw it on the rack. The colour is amazing and there are pockets! But it was two sizes smaller than I normally wear (I don’t usually let that stop me, the sizing system is silly – my wardrobe consists of everything from an XS to XL, 6 to 12). But I knew I would regret it if I didn’t at least try, so I gave it a shot. It zipped up with ease! But then it made me question whether it was supposed to be fitted more on the hips instead of how I was wearing it on the waist. And then questioned what I would even wear it with. Then I started questioning everything.

Side note: I enjoy shopping alone. I can go to whatever stores I like, can take as much or as little time as needed. I can either stop for multiple food breaks or just power through as needed with no one to get hangry at (I apologize unsuspecting shop attendants). However it’s always nice to have a trusted confidante tell you when a dress you love is just a little too short or those stripes just aren’t working for you. So what’s a girl to do??

IMG_0474

This is where the magic of technology comes into play. I have recently started to snapchat my sister to seek her wise council. The first time I did this we were on separate continents. She was lounging at home on the other side of the world, comforting me while I questioned my entire style identity. So I called in the cavalry again here, and sent E a pic of the offending skirt.

IMG_0475

And in the mean time tried on this wool Gap skirt. No pockets, but it had some nice detailing.

IMG_0476

Despite the zipper and more versatile colour, E preferred the yellow. I put off making a decision by trying on my next item..

IMG_0477

A very fun party dress! It’s got a low back which really did not go well with the bra I was wearing, so you’ll just have to take my word for it that it’s awesome. E was immediately sold.

IMG_0478

And last but not least, a lovely chunky knit cardigan. Selling point being the dove pin it came with which you can kind of see on my right shoulder. But this is where the dilemma started. The store was having a buy 2 get 1 free sale, so I had to narrow my choices down to three items. I knew I wanted the sweater and E pushed for the dress, which left it a duel between the two skirts. After much deliberation (this part took forever. If she had actually been there in person, E would have huffed out of the dressing room and told me to ‘pick one already!’) I went with the yellow. I really like the black and white – it is more versatile in terms of colour and knew it would fit seamlessly into my wardrobe. However it’s wool, which I already have plenty of. But the yellow is more exciting. And did I mention it has pockets??

So I ended up with three pieces for $40. Some thrifters might scoff at that, but still cheaper and more sustainable than first hand, which are my priorities.

IMG_0479

After that exhausting experience (the shopping more so than the gym), I rewarded myself with a free soy chai latte (thanks to my mum’s rewards card) and free chocolate diablo cookie I got at Tacofino (thanks to having to wait slightly longer than average for getting my burrito). All in all a successful day.

2 thoughts on “a day in the life of an indecisive shopaholic

Leave a Reply

