practice makes perfect

When I first found this sweater/cardigan/blanket with arms, I couldn’t figure it out. It was held up by trouser hangers and had no discernable place to put your head. It took me a couple tries, but I figured it out eventually.

d

s

This being a time of reflection, the whole experience seemed a metaphor for the process of thrift shopping. You never know what you’ll find and sometimes you don’t understand what you do find: “Who wears this much denim? How do the ties on this dress work? Does anyone have arms this long?”. These and similar questions run through my mind, and sometimes out loud, every time I scour through a rack of second hand clothes.

ta

Many will tell you there is an art to thrift shopping. It takes patience, practice, and above all a little bit of imagination. You won’t find the cookie cutter ensembles you would at the mall, so understanding how pieces would fit in your wardrobe takes a bit more creativity. And of course there are the pesky issues of trying to discern tastes of a bygone era or understanding where the arm holes are. Some can find these tasks daunting, but I like a good challenge. Especially when the reward for such a challenge is an awesome, cheap, sustainable wardrobe full of unique pieces. This comfy yet chic sweater contraption is case in point.

So for all of you who are still intimidated by thrift shopping, just keep at it. You’ll be a pro in no time! And who needs an excuse to go shopping?

lk

  • Top: Value Village ($6)
  • Sweater: Value Village ($8)
  • Pants: Hand me down (free)
  • Ring: Gift
  • Boots: St. Vincent de Paul  ($10)
  • Photography: A (thanks!)

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

18 thoughts on “practice makes perfect

  1. ebuygum says:

    Huge fan of thrifty shopping myself, found your blog via Instagram and nodded along with all of your points! Yep, you do get to find interesting pieces and yes, you can’t be squeamish but hurrah for individuality I say!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ebuygum says:

    I don’t know if my last comment was successful, but just wanted to say I couldn’t agree more with you! I’m a huge fan of thrift too and love how creativity it can help you be…but I hate finding dirty clothes! Icky! Found your blog via Instagram and thought I’d let you know I enjoyed your post!
    Donna x
    Polkadot Pink
    (_Polkadotpink_ on IG)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sarah says:

      Got them both 🙂 Thanks so much for reading and your lovely notes! Thrifting is the best ❤ Always love meeting fellow fashionable thrifters. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

