winter wardrobe

Confession: In university I once tweeted “Leggings and a sweater, an outfit does not make”. Pretentious poeticism aside, I have changed my mind about this style of clothes. At the time, I was referring to the myriad of girls running around campus in so-thin-everyone-can-see-everything yoga pants and UVic hoodies. And I don’t mean ‘running’ as in sport or physical activity, but as in “I’ve got to run and pick up a latte before I head to my English lecture”. Needless to say, I had some sort of deep-rooted alternative girl angst towards these, dare I say, basics. I’m not too proud to say I have changed my tune, and am now writing an entire post about my love for leggings and sweaters.

img_5170-2

Despite being a previous naysayer, this has been the winter of leggings. I have been wearing a combination of ponte leggings and sweaters (either pullovers or oversize cardigans) almost every day for work this winter. It’s easy and comfortable and keeps me warm at my very chilly office. Sometimes it’s nice to not put too much effort into deciding what to wear. I could never go so far as Steve Jobs and wear the same black turtleneck everyday, as that would bore me to bits, but at the same time I see the appeal. I don’t run a multinational tech company, so I think I can spare a little brain power to pick out a couple exciting details. (Even if part of those details include these two gold rings I have worn together everyday for the past 4 months. Shhh don’t tell.)

img_5163-3

Some of these details include this fab collar: the first thing I saw on the crowded rack at Salvation Army. How could I not? My sister-in-law asked if I blinged it out myself, which makes me wish I had. Do they still sell bedazzlers? Now I want to bedazzle every collar in my wardrobe. It would be amazing.

img_5160-2

These boots were not secondhand, but since I bought them over 3 years ago, I’ve worn them more than any other pair of shoes in my closet (which includes my practically falling apart Converse). I think I’ve warn them for half of the outfit posts on this blog. If I do end up ‘slipping’ and purchasing unsustainable and unethical items, I like to make sure I get a lot of wear out of them. Lucy Siegle, a journalist and environmentalist who spearheaded the ethical fashion movement in the UK, talks about how you shouldn’t buy anything unless you will wear it 30 times. I think this is a great rule to live by, no matter the source of your clothes. Plus, these socks are made from recycled plastic bottles so that kind of makes up for it right?

img_5187-2

So there you have it, I’m a complete leggings convert. And when you get them secondhand for $5 how can you not? Are there any styles you’re wearing now that you said you wouldn’t be caught dead in?

img_5149-2

  • Sweater: Clothing Swap (free)
  • Blouse: Salvation Army ($4)
  • Leggings: Wish, Want, Wear ($5)
  • Socks and Rings: Gifts
  • Shoes: Payless ($40)
  • Photography: E ❤

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

8 thoughts on “winter wardrobe

    • Sarah says:

      Thanks Jannine! I’m glad I’m not alone in this. But it also makes me worried what style faux pas I’ll find acceptable in the future. Velour tracksuits? Harem pants??

      Like

Leave a Reply

