endive & indulge

My sister has been asking me to make her an apron for Christmas for the past several years. I’ve been known to be fairly last minute when it comes to gifts, which can be tricky when I like to make them myself. One year I gave her a half finished scarf with attached needles and the promise to finish it. I did, before the new year, in case you were wondering. But she stopped asking for the apron, figuring I would make one eventually if I thought about in time.

img_2809

In December E started her own blog: Endive and Indulge. As a Master of Public Health Nutrition, self-proclaimed foodie, and aspiring home chef, she writes about food in moderation and posts recipes that are a balance of healthy and sinful. As a Libra who is all about balance, this is definitely my jam. She even posts Meatless Monday recipes, which if you aren’t already a vegan or vegetarian, is a great way to learn to cut down on your meat consumption.

If you don’t know why that’s a big deal, do yourself a favour and watch many of the great documentaries on Netflix about the meat industry and it’s detrimental effects on our bodies and the planet (Cowspiracy, Food Inc, Forks Over Knives, Vegucated, etc). One of the statistics #MeatlessMonday likes to throw around is that “If the world reduced meat consumption by 15% it would have the same impact on greenhouse gas emissions as taking 240 million cars off the road each year.” And for all those cynics who think one person doesn’t make a difference, they also say “For every burger skipped, you can save enough water to shower with for the next 2.5 months”.

The point is, everyone should be eating less meat. And Meatless Monday is a great way to start. Even if you’re already a professional veggie, still check out the recipes because they’re delicious and the photos are equal parts inspiring and mouth-watering.

img_2722

E modelling her new apron!

But I digress. The point is, E started a food blog, and I wanted to get her a present to celebrate that. Cue the apron! I’ve seen handmade and vintage aprons at markets and craft fairs, but they were all ridiculously expensive. “I’m pretty sure I could do that myself”, I always said, as a lot of us always do before proceeding to not do said thing. But this time I was finally determined. I picked up some fabric at Value Village: a great place to find cheap material if you don’t need something super specific, and of course all the better because it’s second hand :).

img_2819-001

Then I got to work perusing the internet for inspiration. I ended up frankensteining a couple patterns and making it up as I went, so I won’t bother linking anything here, but if you just Google “apron pattern” you will be rewarded with a myriad of styles and patterns. I went pretty simple for my first attempt: A long thick waistband with a pleated square skirt. The material was a little thin so I doubled it up to give it a bit more substance. Without too much method, and a dash of madness, I think it turned out pretty great. Next time I might even get a bit wild and add a pocket or bodice. This is a great project to try if you’re new to sewing. Don’t forget to check out your local thrift store for awesome cheap fabric! What sewing project should I try next? Maybe I’ll get to it by next Christmas 😉

img_2825-001

Follow me on BloglovinInstagram, Lookbook, and Twitter

And follow Endive and Indulge on FacebookInstagram, and Twitter

❤ S

 

2 thoughts on “endive & indulge

Leave a Reply

